one man’s mistake, another man’s success.

Well, the author is quite widely known and has been declared as young India’s rising and best selling novelist. His third book – the three mistakes of my life has been receiving good reviews and I decided to try it out.

The book is all about the major three mistakes that a person makes in his life. As usual the protagonist here too is male – a twenty something youngster, probably as old as you and I.
Chetan Bhagat is a very promising author and I loved reading his first book – five point someone, for it inspired me to chronicling most college stories and sharing it with those who were written about. His second book was not as appreciable, as far as my tastes are concerned.  But his third is quite on the same lines as the first. Three guys, one story, narrated by the protagonist, a love story, a tragedy. Oh, and it also is on the same lines as the second book, in the second it is a chance meeting with a stranger in the train, here it is the last email of someone who tries to kill himself. If I have to put it in better equivalents, I read the first, skimmed the second and perused the third. If it is a true story, I would say you have no scope to improvise, since it is someone’s life that would be altered – sometimes life can be boring. If it is purely imaginative it can be fun, let your imagination run wild, and you get the most amazing works of art – be ambitious, be creative, be dreamy. Dear Mr. Bhagat, if you chance upon my humble blog, please do make a collection of short stories next.

This is the second IIT-IIM grad that I know of who’s a published author – and a good one at that. Most of us work for the pass outs from the Ivy League colleges in the country, can you imagine, your boss writing something like this. If you were a literature grad, and love English, you probably cry everyday for the torture and brutality that English goes through, even on my blog. There must be something somewhere which makes us want to write. And it pops up somewhere sometime. Of course in the era of the web, it is more about writing for money, primarily, with all the ads by the internet companies.

When I quit Google last week, most of my ex-colleagues mentioned I monetise on my blog. This is something that will not happen for sure. Some of my principles are not meant to be changed(the changeable ones are ruled by science). I took this decision a long time ago, when I got to know how people make money of blogs and how the business model works. And there will be no monetising because I am selfish – yes selfish enough to not make money. Writing is my passion, and a hobby. I can make money by writing for newspapers and magazines, but the blog is something else. There is a place where the family goes to un-wind, quite far from the city and hence not possible to go there every weekend. It is quite amazing and is an exclusive to the family. So a lot of things would have to make up for it, music, reading, and writing. And I intend on not monetising on any of them. It would be like renting out the vacation home to some stranger. And especially when the concept is that the stranger makes money by staying in your home.  And more so because everything I write about here is a part of my life, love, friendship, poetry, madness etc, its not like one of the current trends that are going on in the world or the world wide web, it’s the current trend of my mind – my state of being. Monetising on this would actually, morally, be equivalent of trafficking.

It amazes me how some people think that it is easy to make money online through placing ads on your blog/website. There are probably a million people who are writing the same thing as you do at the same time for the same reasons.And for the same reason most blogs are outright boring. But in the past few hours, I learnt that coming up with a lot of posts or even writing for a profession is extremely demanding, for I can’t use the internet and search for current trends that people would read, or the fact the I can find inspiration outside my head. Oh and then there is the plot – and my brain almost dies of exhaustion.

I wouldn’t criticise authors who sometimes make pages which you tend to skip, it is due to this exhaustion I figure. But they are creative people and will probably have a dozen ideas at the same time, sometimes prioritising it differently. No wonder there are so many books and papers to read.

For all I care, give me a book, good or bad, as long as it is in a language that I can read and comprehend, I would appreciate the author for his work. After all there is nothing that is badly written.

19 thoughts on “one man’s mistake, another man’s success.

  1. An interesting outlook, i must say. I feel your passion for your desire to write and can respect your view on people blogging to make money. There’s alot on the net that is boring and I believe that boils down to the lack of conviction people have towards their beliefs. Solid values will resonate an energy that will help the reader connect with the author and that’s what it’s all about.

    As a writer, I would appreciate your feedback on my articles.

    I appreciate your view. Thank you for writing your blog.

    Sincerely,

    Sandra

    Like

  2. Since the chetan bhagat success story, every other IIT-ian thinks he can take a pen and write down a novel. And you know what, I dont have adsense on my blog for the same reasons as you 🙂

    Like

  3. Hey Frost,

    Its not been very long back when I realized the joy of writing. And for the same reasons, I agree there’s nothing ‘bad’ written. Its just that some thoughts expressed in a mnner that they are expressed don’t appeal to me sometimes. and just I like the feeling of writing, I am sure other’s do too.

    As I write my mind out sometimes, I wonder, how do professional writers/authors/novelists etc work for money and I would never be able to bring myself to believe that that would be true. Because if that’s their motivation, then the content of what’s written may fail to move the reader. The inspiration is what connects the author and the readers. money would be ideal only in cases of – ‘How to become filthy rich in 100 days’ and the likes.

    I think it works the other way around – great writers are simply great thinkers who express their thoughts as books/columns etc; they want ppl to read and know what they think about it; ppl read it – some like it others don’t. Money is just a thing in the passing which happens to them in the process.

    By the way – I loved these lines of yours : “Monetising on this would actually, morally, be equivalent of trafficking.” A thought so beautiful and expressed in an equally bold manner.

    Keep up the good work. Feels great to understand you better than yesterday through your blogs 🙂

    Ciao.

    Like

  4. Rahul!!! 🙂 i care not for what u say… (imagine filmy setting et al.)

    Rahul… main ye nahi janti ki tum kya kehna chahte ho… main ye nahi janna chahti bhi!
    … magar ye tumne kya keh diya…Rahul… kya tum itne saal baad bhi mujhe nahi jante!?!
    wo IMS classes, college ke kahaniyan… wo masti aur mere mummy ke sabardast coffee… in sab ke baad bhi tumne ye keh diya… ke ab tak tum mujhe nahi samaj paye…
    😦 😦

    ROFLMAO

    i had to tel myself to stop.. nahi tho you know me.. nautanki wil go on.. now go… go work.. and yeah.. get back to chennai sometime soon… 😛

    Like

  5. It took a long time for me to figure out why u were sayin u just dint wanna make dough out of ur blog …until i read “It would be like renting out the vacation home to some stranger”….kudos

    Like

  6. Cheenu!!!!!

    Hw r u? hw r things in hyd?
    Thanks 🙂 for the comment, guess brain activity is directly proportional to the amount of mathematics you take interest in and inversely proportional to the number of tablets you take 🙂

    Like

  7. Even i thought of writing something after reading Chetan Bhagat (I didn’t enjoy the “3 Mistakes” – too dramatic), but i decided not to kill the english language but rather try killing my mother tongue…

    You know mothers always love you and forgive you, so i decided to start a tamil series in my blog…

    As you say as long as i can read it,its ok for me… Did you get the chance to read “Anything for you Maam” – another IITian story – I finished the book somehow – but i had to get in to a sleep a couple of times while reading it.

    Like

  8. Hey Frost,

    This comment might come a bit late. I happened to chance through your blog and this post caught my attention immediately. I’ve been trying to sit down for a couple of our everyday to pen down my thoughts, fictional stories, poetry, something. But like you said it’s not an easy task when you get to it. Writing after a brilliant spark of imagination is one thing and writing as a profession is a far difficult thing.

    Keep up the writing! I like your stand on not monetizing your blog. I don’t blame the ones who do. Selling the story of your life has been long rampant in the literary world and now we see it in the blogging world.

    Cheers!

    Like

  9. True, very true!! But when I visit blogs written by management grads, their English is outrightly complicated – a flamboyant show off of vocabulary. I prefer simple free-flowing colloquial writing (just like yours, for example!!) to convey ones thoughts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

