A review of Straight Expectations a book by Calum McSwiggan.

Book Review – Straight Expectations by Calum McSwiggan

A review of Straight Expectations a book by Calum McSwiggan.

Last month I had an excellent month on this blog. I wrote whenever I could. The result was that I wrote more in April than I did the whole of last year. Then I went off in May. A peak and then a plateau. Same with reading as well.

When the schedule for Straight Expectations was nearing, I still had not read the book. I was in a funk. Finally, with less than 24 hours to go, I got to reading the book. It was a good book that got me out of my slump.

Max, Dean, Oliver and the coterie of youngsters in Straight Expectations are relatable. Whatever happens in high school, no matter which generation you belong to, you can relate to it. Max is a typical depiction of a YA protagonist. He has all the charm and everything seems fine until he wishes for something. You see, Max is gay. One fine day, during a heated moment, he wishes to be otherwise. Straight Expectations then goes into how things unfold for Max who wakes up one day and does not feel gay anymore.

There are plenty of positives to write about Straight Expectations. The story is well-plotted and the language used is simple. It will put a smile on your face. The characters are well-thought out and play their parts with gusto. The story has a good and the language used is simple. Reading Straight Expectations will put a smile on your face.

The time in high school especially when they begin to discover their sexuality is a difficult time. Straight Expectations for one does not bring blatant homophobia or the trauma most homosexual children tend to face in real life. There is a little bit of it here and there, so be advised.

Would I recommend Straight Expectations to readers? Yes. It is an enjoyable book. One can live a much younger life during the read.

You can find a copy of Straight Expectations here – Amazon.

Frost At Midnite, A Blog by Jayasree Bhargavan

Leave a comment